Dennis in, Orban out as Peseiro reportedly releases provisional AFCON squad

Dennis in, Orban out as Peseiro reportedly releases provisional AFCON squad

The Super Eagles have adopted the “Let’s do it again” motto for the AFCON 2024 tournament in a bid to motivate the players to bring the trophy home next year.

Super Eagles tactician, Jose Peseiro has released a 40-man provisional squad ahead of the 2024 AFCON tournament that will be held in the Ivory Coast, reports.

The final squad list is to have a maximum of 27 players, meaning thirteen players from the current list will be dropped when the final list is released.

The Portuguese included three home-based players in the team, with all three being goalkeepers. Enyimba’s Olorunleke Ojo, Sporting Lagos’s Christian Nwoke, and Bendel Insurance’s Amas Obasogie, who has ten clean sheets to his name in the NPFL this season.

Gent’s Gift Orban missed out on the list, with Istanbul Başakşehir’s Emmanuel Dennis being a surprise inclusion. Taiwo Awoniyi misses out after having surgery on a persistent groin injury. The full squad is revealed here.

Fans from home and abroad anticipate a great outing from the Nigerian national team, especially with the country’s attacking firepower.

Super Eagles’ strikers like Victor Osimhen, Victor Okoh Boniface, and Paul Onuachu are enjoying a great run of form with their club side, and Nigerians hope Peseiro can galvanise their club form to give the nation a great outing in the Ivory Coast.

Nigeria last won the AFCON in 2013, after defeating Burkina Faso via a Sunday Mbah stunner that made all the difference.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *